Maui Election

List of 11 to be narrowed to two in primary race for Maui Mayor

July 21, 2010, 6:04 AM HST
* Updated July 29, 7:41 AM
Listen to this Article
1 minute
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

By Wendy Osher

A total of 11 candidates are vying for Maui’s top job.  The field was finalized yesterday with the passing of the filing deadline leaving a long list of candidates in the running for Mayor.  

The field grew by four in the past week with Sally Chow Hammond of Molokai and Marc Hodges of Kula putting in their names in the final 48 hours.  Other final week filings included Jonathon Olson and former county Planning Director Chris Hart who made their candidacy official on the 14th and 15th respectively. 

Maui Mayor Charmaine Tavares also faces former Mayor Alan Arakawa, former Land Use Commissioner Randy Piltz, and Council Member Sol Kahoohalahala in the Primary.  Other names included on the list are Ori Kopelman, Peter Milbourn, and Harold Miller. 

The eleven names will be narrowed to two in eight short weeks when the candidates face on in the Primary Election on September 18th.  The two top vote-getters advance to the General Election on November 2nd


Pacific Radio Group will provide up to the minute election results following the closure of polls on both days with live wall to wall coverage on our KNUI 900 AM radio station along with a live televised simulcast on University of Hawaii Maui College, Channel 55.   

Maui Mayor Charmaine Tavares faces 10 other candidates in her relection bid this year. File Photo © Wendy Osher.

E-Mail Newsletters Receive daily or weekly updates via e-mail. Subscribe Now
News Alerts Breaking news alerts on your mobile device. Get the App


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Maui Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments