Maui News

Maui Thing’s Saedene Ota named to UH Regents

April 1, 2011, 5:30 PM HST
Listen to this Article
2 minutes
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

By Wendy Osher

UHMC courtesy image.

Saedene Ota of Maui was among the list of five new members named to the UH Board of Regents.  The body is tasked with formulating policy and overseeing the 10 campus University of Hawaii System through the university president.

Ota is a graphic designer and owner of Sae Design, and the Maui Thing lifestyle clothing company on Maui.  In 2005, she was awarded U.S. Small Business Advocate of the Year “Women in Business Champion.”

Others selected by Governor Neil Abercrombie today include Hawaii Red Cross CEO Coralie Matayoshi; Big Island resident and former chancellor at Hawai’i Community College in Hilo Patrick Naughton; Psychology Professor emerita Sandra Scarr; and Oceanit CEO Jan Sullivan.

The UH Board of Regents is composed of 15 members who are nominated by the Regents Candidate Advisory Council, appointed by governor and confirmed by the state Senate.


Governor Abercrombie also announced today his appointments to the East-West Center Board of Governors.  The East-West Center promotes better relations and understanding among the people and nations of the United States, Asia, and the Pacific through cooperative study, research, and dialogue.


Abercrombie’s selections includes former Hawaii Governor, George Ariyoshi, who will be one of three ex-officio members.  Other appointments are: Corianne Lau, an attorney, Director and Shareholder at Alston Hunt Floyd & Ing; Puongpun Sananikone, an international development economist and business executive; Barbara Tanabe, owner and partner of Ho’âkea Communications; R. Brian Tsujimura, a lawyer, land developer, and lobbyist for Imanaka Kudo & Fujimoto; and Richard Turbin, Senior Attorney and President of the Law Offices of Turbin Chu Smith.

The East-West Center was established by the U.S. Congress in 1960 and serves as a resource for information and analysis on critical issues of common concern, bringing people together to exchange views, build expertise, and develop policy options.

The East-West Center Board of Governors consists of 18 members, including five appointed by the Governor of Hawai’i.


*** Supporting information courtesy Office of the Governor.

E-Mail Newsletters Receive daily or weekly updates via e-mail. Subscribe Now
News Alerts Breaking news alerts on your mobile device. Get the App


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Maui Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments