Maui Business

Nominations Sought for Kahoolawe Island Reserve Commissioner

January 24, 2012, 7:01 PM HST
* Updated January 25, 3:34 PM
Listen to this Article
1 minute
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

Map of Kahoolawe, courtesy KIRC.

By Sonia Isotov

The Kaho‘olawe Island Reserve Commission (KIRC) has announced that the office of the governor is seeking nominations for an individual to fill the Native Hawaiian Organizations representative seat on the seven-member state commission.

According to the state law that created the Commission (Chapter 6K, Hawai‘i Revised Statutes), one commissioner is appointed by the governor from a list of names submitted by Native Hawaiian Organizations and is eligible to serve two consecutive four-year terms (no more than eight years).

This request for nominations is to fill the seat currently held by Kai‘ulani Murphy, who will have served two years on June 30, 2012. Before Ms. Murphy, representatives of Native Hawaiian Organizations included Dr. Charles Burrows, Dr. Isabella Abbott and Nalani Kanaka‘ole

Commissioners serve without pay, but are reimbursed for their actual and necessary expenses. Further information and instructions for submitting an application can be found at the State of Hawaii’s Boards and Commissions website at


The KIRC was established to manage the Kaho’olawe Island Reserve, which includes the island of Kaho‘olawe and its surrounding waters. Information about the KIRC can be found at

E-Mail Newsletters Receive daily or weekly updates via e-mail. Subscribe Now
News Alerts Breaking news alerts on your mobile device. Get the App


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Maui Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments