Maui Sports

Four Student-Athletes from Maui County Recognized by HMSA

June 16, 2012, 7:29 PM HST
* Updated June 18, 7:02 AM
Listen to this Article
3 minutes
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

From left, Charisse Manley (Molokai High School), Cheyenne Kamaleionalani Pico (Hana), Joni Lynne Sanchez Casio (King Kekaulike) and Steve Van Ribbink (HMSA). Missing from photo is Taylor Hori of Seabury Hall. Photo by HMSA.

Rodney S. Yap

Maui County students took top honors today at the HMSA Kaimana Awards & Scholarship Program Ceremony at the Hawaii Prince Hotel in Waikiki.

Four outstanding students from the Maui Interscholastic League were honored with $3,000 scholarships. They were Cheyenne Pico of Hana High School, Taylor Hori of Seabury Hall, Charisse L. Manley of Molokai, and Joni Lynne Sanchez Casio of King Kekaulike.  Pico was also recognized as a distinguished scholar and was given an additional $2,000 for school.

The top scoring schools from the Maui Interscholastic League were Baldwin and Maui Preparatory Academy, each receiving  checks for $1,500.

“The HMSA Kaimana Awards & Scholarship Program is the only program in the state that rewards academics and athletics as well as sportsmanship and community service,” said Robert P. Hiam, HMSA’s chief executive officer, before more than 200 school principals, athletic directors, and student athletes and their family members.

The program recognizes all-around accomplishments by high schools, rewards individual student athletes with scholarships, and supports coaches education. The program, which started in 2005, is sponsored by HMSA and administered by the Hawaii High School Athletic Association.


In all, 22 students received scholarships worth $3,000. Five of those students were named distinguished scholars and received an additional $2,000 each. The program awarded more than $90,000 to Hawaii high schools and outstanding student athletes.


“The drive and dedication demonstrated by these young athletes is inspirational, as is the support they get from their schools. HMSA is honored to have this chance to recognize them for their accomplishments,” Hiam said.

Thirty high schools were recognized for achieving the highest program scores in their league and division in athletics, academics, sportsmanship, and community service. The 10 highest scoring schools received a check for $1,500.

The keynote address was presented by Norm Chow, head football coach at University of Hawaii. Longtime UH sports broadcaster Jim Leahey and KHON2 Sports Director Kanoa Leahey emceed the awards luncheon. Guest presenters included Fred Guzman of Pacific Radio Group’s ESPN-AM Radio; Josh Pacheco of ESPN Radio; Dave Reardon of the Honolulu Star-Advertiser; Steve Uyehara, news anchor with Hawaii News Now; and Dave Vinton, director of Sports Programming for OC-16.


HMSA Kaimana Awards & Scholarship Program

2012 Winning High Schools 

Big Island Interscholastic Federation
  Division I
1st Waiakea High School
2nd Kealakehe High School
3rd Hilo High School
Division II
1st Hualalai Academy
2nd Kohala High School
3rd Hawaii Preparatory Academy
Maui Interscholastic League
Division 1
1st Baldwin High School
2nd Kamehameha Schools Maui
3rd King Kekaulike High School
Division 2
1st Maui Preparatory Academy
2nd St. Anthony High School
3rd Seabury Hall
Kauai Interscholastic Federation
1st Island School
2nd Kapaa High School
3rd Waimea High School
Oahu Interscholastic Association
Red Division
1st Moanalua High School
2nd Kapolei High School
3rd Waipahu High School
Blue Division
1st Kaiser High School
2nd Kahuku High School
3rd Radford High School
White Division
1st Kalani High School
2nd Aiea High School
3rd McKinley High School
Interscholastic League of Honolulu
Division 1
1st Mid-Pacific Institute
2nd Sacred Hearts Academy
3rd Iolani School
Division 2
1st Hawaii Baptist Academy
2nd Christian Academy
3rd University High School

HMSA Kaimana Awards & Scholarship Program

2012 Student Scholarship Winners

Distinguished Scholarship Recipients:

Erin M. Carvalho, Kamehameha Schools Hawaii

Lauren Claypoole, Island School

Penina Lima, Kapolei High School

Charisse L. Manley, Molokai High School

Cheyenne K. Pico, Hana High School

Big Island Interscholastic Federation (BIIF) Scholarship Recipients:

Erin M. Carvalho, Kamehameha Schools Hawaii

Camille R. Ricketts, Konawaena High School

Trevor T. Yamagata, Konawaena High School

Interscholastic League of Honolulu (ILH) Scholarship Recipients:

Max P. Castanera, Kamehameha Schools Kapalama

Samantha J. Dacanay, Iolani School

Megan P. Herndon, Punahou School

Kalei R. Hosaka, Hawaii Baptist Academy

Leahna M. Luke, Iolani School

Siena Simmons, Iolani School

Kauai Interscholastic Federation (KIF) Scholarship Recipients:

Kimberly V. Aguilar, Waimea High School

Garrett J. Beyer, Island School

Lauren Claypoole, Island School

Maui Interscholastic League (MIL) Scholarship Recipients:

Taylor M. Hori, Seabury Hall

Charisse L. Manley, Molokai High School

Cheyenne K. Pico, Hana High School

Joni Lynne M. Sanchez Casio, King Kekaulike High School

Oahu Interscholastic Association (OIA) Scholarship Recipients:

Heather Higashi, Mililani High School

Shayna M. Hokama, Mililani High School

Caitlin K. Hooker, Kailua High School

Travis P. Lefrandt, Moanalua High School

Penina Lima, Kapolei High School

Sara A. McAllaster, Kalaheo High School

E-Mail Newsletters Receive daily or weekly updates via e-mail. Subscribe Now
News Alerts Breaking news alerts on your mobile device. Get the App


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Maui Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments