Maui Election

2012 Maui Primary Results

August 11, 2012, 11:17 PM HST
* Updated August 13, 9:39 AM
Listen to this Article
4 minutes
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

UHMC Live studio production of 2012 Primary Election in coordination with Pacific Radio Group. Photo by Tracie Takitani.

By Wendy Osher

(UPDATE: 3:13 a.m. 8/12/12; UPDATE: 10:49 p.m. 8/11/12; Originally posted following 9 p.m. summary report.)

All precincts in Maui were accounted for by the time the 9 p.m. Summary Report was released by the state office of elections on primary election night.

Nearly all of the Maui votes were tallied in that printout with the exception of a few that trickled in during subsequent summary reports, but the end result was unchanged.

In the winner-take-all Democratic primary for District 9 in the state House, Gil Keith-Agaran maintains his role as state lawmaker, garnering 2,282 votes, or 57% of the vote. He edged out his opponent, Joe Pontanilla, who garnered 1,583 votes, or 39.5%.


In the state House, District 10 race, incumbent Angus McKelvey advances to the general election after defeating Ed Kaahui in the Democratic primary. McKelvey had 1,329 votes or 66.8% of the vote compared to Ka’ahui’s 540 votes or 27.1% of the vote with 5 of 5 precincts in that district accounted for by 8:52 p.m., and a few additional votes recorded in a subsequent report.


In the uncontested state House race for District 8, incumbent Joe Souki received 3,606 votes, or 75.5% of the vote. There were 1,169 blank votes and 3 over votes.

In South Maui, the hotly-contested Democratic primary race for the District 11 state House seat goes to Kaniela Ing, who advances to compete in the general election on November 6, against incumbent George Fontaine who was the lone Republican candidate.  Ing received 1,108 votes or 43.3% of the vote, edging out Netra Halperin who had 682 votes or 26.6% of the votes, followed by Colin Hanlon who had 347 votes or 13.6% of the votes, and former state representative Joe Bertram III, who had 324 votes, or 12.7% of the votes. All four of four precincts were accounted for by the second printout. George Fontaine received 685 votes, or 85.8% of the votes on the Republican ballot. There were 112 blank votes and 1 over vote.

In the District 12 state House race, lone  Republican, Ekolu Kalama earned 470 votes, or 61.5% of the votes on the party ticket. He faces incumbent Kyle Yamashita, who earned 3,686 votes, or 79% of the Democratic vote on the uncontested Democratic party ballot.


In District 13, incumbent Mele Carroll, who ran uncontested on the Democratic ballot, earned 2,683 votes or 76.7% of the votes cast.  She will face Simon Russell, the lone Republican candidate in the November 6 general election.  Russell garnered 319 votes or 65.1% of the vote on the Republican ballot, with 171 blank votes and zero over votes.

In the lone contested state Senate race on Maui, incumbent J. Kalani English defeated Barbara Haliniak in District 7 by a margin of more than 1,400 votes. English earned 5,456 votes or 66.8% of the vote compared to Haliniak’s 1,994 votes or 24.4% of the democratic vote.  Non-partisan candidate Konohowailuku Helm did not get enough votes to advance to the general election. Under state law, he was required to earn an overall 10% of the vote in the District 7 race, or as many votes as the winning contender in other parties represented. Helm received a total of 316 votes, or 94.9% of the non-partisan vote, with 17 blank votes reported.

In the uncontested state Senate race for District 5, Senate President Shan Tsutsui received 7,337 votes, or 83.5% of the vote, with 1,445 blank votes or 16.4%, and 3 over votes.

In District 6, incumbent Sen. Roz Baker received 3,457 votes, or 76% of the vote in her uncontested democratic primary. She will face repeat candidate Bart Mulvihill, who ran uncontested on the Republican ticket. Mulvihill earned 938 votes or 68.4% of the Republican votes, with 432 blank votes, and 1 over vote.

In the County Council races, Wailuku incumbent Michael Victorino and challenger Joseph Blackburn advance to the general election after edging out fellow contender Lisa Gapero.  The vote count was: Victorino with 15,001 votes or 58.4%; Joe Blackburn with 4,676 votes or 18.2%; and Lisa Gapero with 3,417 or 13.3%.

As for the Kahului Council, Don Guzman was the top vote getter with 11,916 votes or 46.4% of the vote.  He will face Alan Fukuyama in the general election, who garnered 7,596 votes, or 29.6% of the vote.  Erin McLaughlin fails to advance in that race after earning the least amount of votes with 2,792 votes, or 10.9% of the votes.

Additional results: (As of 10:49 p.m. 8/11/12)

US Senate (R):

  • Lingle, Linda 44,245, 90.2%
  • Carroll, John 2,899, 5.9%
  • Roco, John P. 545, 1.1%
  • Collins, Charles Augustine 365, 0.7%
  • Pirkowski, Eddie 232, 0.5%

US Senate (N):

  • Beasley, Heath 827 42.5%

US Senate (D):

  • Hirono, Mazie 134,724, 56.8%
  • Case, Ed 95,543, 40.3%
  • Reyes, Arturo Pacheco 1,720, 0.7%
  • Gillespie, Michael D. 1,103, 0.5%
  • Gimbernat, Antonio 517, 0.2%

US Congress – District 2 (R):

  • Crowley, Kawika 9,053, 45%
  • DiGeronimo, Matthew 5,842, 29%

US Congress – District 2 (D):

  • Gabbard, Tulsi 62,869 54%
  • Hannemann, Mufi 39,169, 33.6%
  • Kia’aina, Esther 6,680 5.7%
  • Marx, Bob 4,327 3.7%
  • Shiratori, Miles 573, 0.5%
  • Del Castillo, Rafael 520, 0.4%

Mayor, Hawaii County:

  • Kenoi, Billy 18,390, 42.4%
  • Kim, Harry 14,801, 34.1%
  • Yagong, Dominic 8,352, 19.3%
  • Christie, Share 511, 1.2%
  • Cunningham, Daniel H. 336, 0.8%
  • Walls, Rand 227, 0.5%

Mayor, Honolulu City:

  • Cayetano, Benjamin J. 90,944, 44.1%
  • Caldwell, Kirk 59,955 29.1%
  • Carlisle, Peter B. 51,087, 24.8%
  • DeJean, Khistina Caldwell 1,289, 0.6%
Make the most of your Maui vacation with these top-rated activities: Maui Top 20: Maui Visitor & Tourism Information
E-Mail Newsletters Receive daily or weekly updates via e-mail. Subscribe Now
News Alerts Breaking news alerts on your mobile device. Get the App


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Maui Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments