Maui Business

49-Member Pro Bowl Committee Announced

October 5, 2012, 11:31 AM HST
* Updated October 5, 11:32 AM
Listen to this Article
2 minutes
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

Aloha Stadium, site of the 2013 NFL Pro Bowl. Photo courtesy of Hawaii News Now.

By Sonia Isotov

The Hawai‘i Tourism Authority (HTA) in partnership with the National Football League (NFL) today announced the 49 business and community members of the Pro Bowl Committee 2013.

The 49-member Committee will play a key role in developing and implementing programs to increase Pro Bowl Week and Game Day attendance, generate broad media exposure, increase community engagement and support, raise military involvement, create business partnerships and opportunities, enhance player and family experiences, and develop inbound travel packages for domestic and international visitors.

The Committee is chaired by Dr. Edison Miyawaki, a local business leader and limited partner of the Cincinnati Bengals.

Committee chair Dr. Miyawaki’s experience with the NFL dates back to the 1970s when he established an NFL training camp for local athletes aspiring to play professional football. In 1994, he became the first Japanese-American to purchase minority ownership of an NFL franchise. For the past two decades, Dr. Miyawaki has played an instrumental role in securing the Pro Bowl in Hawai‘i.


“We are pleased to welcome the Pro Bowl back to Hawai‘i in 2013 and look forward to working with the Pro Bowl Committee to enhance overall resident and visitor experiences during the week,” said Mike McCartney, president and chief executive officer of the Hawaii Tourism Authority, in a written statement.


According to a statistics from the Hawaii Tourism Authority, the 2012 Pro Bowl attracted 48,423 attendees (18,873 of which were visitors), contributing $25.3 million in visitor spending and $2.8 million in tax revenues. Pro Bowl Week events generated an additional estimated $4 million in local economic activity, while annual NFL charitable donations exceeded $100,000 in 2012. The Pro Bowl broadcast also reached 12.5 million viewers nationwide.

Pro Bowl festivities. Photo courtesy of Hawaii News Now.

Pro Bowl Committee Members are:

      1. Vince Baldemor
      2. Bob Barlow
      3. Rick Blagiardi
      4. Scott Chan
      5. Al Chee
      6. Chris Chun
      7. Bruce Coppa
      8. Lee Donahue
      9. Nola Donahue-Lewis
      10. Jim Donovan
      11. Rick Egged
      12. John Fink
      13. Raymond Fujino
      14. Jim Fulton
      15. Jerry Gibson
      16. Kerry Hadaway
      17. Bob Harrison
      18. Percy Higashi
      19. Peter Ho
      20. Paulette Kaleikini
      21. George Kam
      22. Alvin Katahara
      23. Victor Kimura
      24. Chris Kobayashi
      25. Duane Kurisu
      26. Russell Lau
      27. David Matlin
      28. Mike McCartney
      29. Lynn McCrory
      30. Chuck Mills
      31. Edison Miyawaki
      32. Sam Moku
      33. Randy Perreira
      34. Mark Polivka
      35. Carol Pregill
      36. Michael Story
      37. George Szigeti
      38. Tony Takitani
      39. Barry Taniguchi
      40. Chris Tatum
      41. David Uchiyama
      42. Art Ushijima
      43. Bill Villa
      44. Ron Williams
      45. Alan Wong
      46. Roy Yamaguchi
      47. Gary Yoshida
      48. Hugh Yoshida
      49. Sanford Yuen
E-Mail Newsletters Receive daily or weekly updates via e-mail. Subscribe Now
News Alerts Breaking news alerts on your mobile device. Get the App


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Maui Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments