Maui News

Maui Senate List Narrowed to 3 Finalists

January 7, 2013, 8:02 AM HST
* Updated January 7, 11:45 AM
Listen to this Article
1 minute
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

State Capitol, file photo by Wendy Osher.

By Wendy Osher

The Maui Democratic Party has narrowed a list of names to three as top contenders for the Senate District 5 seat, vacated by the advancement of former Senate president Shan Tsutsui of Maui to lieutenant governor.

Nominating Committee Chair Justin Hughey said he felt confident that the process went smoothly and was transparent.

“We had seven great applicants and the committee selected three qualified individuals who reflect the values of Senate District 5.  I have forwarded the names to the chair of the Maui County Democratic Party and the Hawaii Democratic Party and I look forward to the governor’s selection,” said Hughey.

Applicants considered were Nicanor E. Casumpang, Jr., Loretta Giannotti, Robert George Hill III, Natalie A. Kama, Gilbert Samuel Coloma Keith-Agaran, Clifford R. Libed, and Mary D. Wagner.


Any requests for the selected names can be directed to the Democratic Party of Hawaii or the State of Hawaii Office of the Governor.


The nominating committee will not release the top three names of the candidates and will defer to the governor on whether he will release the three names to the public.

The governor has 60 days from the first day of the vacancy to make a decision.

Make the most of your Maui vacation with these top-rated activities: Maui Top 20: Maui Visitor & Tourism Information
E-Mail Newsletters Receive daily or weekly updates via e-mail. Subscribe Now
News Alerts Breaking news alerts on your mobile device. Get the App


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Maui Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments