Maui News

Maui Educators Earn Accolades in Annual DOE Ceremony

September 13, 2014, 8:29 AM HST
* Updated September 13, 8:30 AM
Listen to this Article
1 minute
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

HP Baldwin High School. Photo by Wendy Osher.

HP Baldwin High School. Photo by Wendy Osher.

By Wendy Osher

Several Maui educators were recognized for their outstanding efforts during an annual ceremony hosted by the state Department of Education on Friday.

Baldwin High School Administrative Services Assistant Jaye Arakaki was among a list of two employees who were honored with the DOE’s Sustained Superior Performance Award, department officials announced.

Educational Assistants at Makawao Elementary School were also recognized for their outstanding efforts and were among six DOE teams that were honored with a Team Excellence Award of Merit.

Assistants at Makawao who make up the team include: Dionne Amoral, Jodi Brown, Antoinette Fernandez, Debra Hipolito, Sara Honma, Jamie Paa, Renee Tavares, Zaida Urban, Karen Vierra, and Brandi Yap.


The Department’s highest awards were issued to various employees and teams from across the state including the following:

  • 2014 Employee of the Year: Monica DeCosta of Kahaluu Elementary School.  Department officials credit DeCosta with helping to cut absenteeism, streamline operations school-wide, and help save the school’s Hawaiian Studies program.
  • DOE Team of the Year: Washington Middle School’s AVID Site Team.  The group was recognized for their eforts to empower students to succeed in school and prepare for college.
  • Manager of the Year: Thomas Rodrigues, food service manager at ʻAiea High School

“These employees have made a personal commitment to always strive for their very best, day in and day out,” said Deputy Superintendent Ronn Nozoe in a department press release. “Their hard work and dedication contribute to student achievement gains, while their professionalism also inspires all of us as to keep working hard to make our schools better for Hawaiʻi’s students and their families,” said Nozoe.

DOE officials ay the three educators will represent the Department of Education at the Annual Governor’s Award for Distinguished State Service taking place next month.

E-Mail Newsletters Receive daily or weekly updates via e-mail. Subscribe Now
News Alerts Breaking news alerts on your mobile device. Get the App


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Maui Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments