Maui Sports

Maui Professional Boxer Dat Nguyen to Headline Texas Fight

February 6, 2017, 1:22 PM HST
* Updated February 6, 1:23 PM
Listen to this Article
1 minute
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00
A
A
A

Maui Professional Boxer Dat Nguyen

Professional Boxer Dat Nguyen, formerly of Maui, will be headlining and the Main Event for Premier Boxing Champions upcoming show on Feb. 21, 2017 in Houston, Texas.

The 34-year-old stands 5’6″, weighs 130 pounds, has a 67″ reach and a 19-3-0 record with 6 KOs, according to the Premier Boxing Champions.

He faces Miguel Flores who is unbeaten at 21-0-0 before a home crowd from Flores who is from Houston.

The 10-round fight will be broadcast on Fox Sports 1 (10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT/5 p.m. HST).

Dat Nguyen was born in Vietnam, but has resided on Maui since 1991, and is currently fighting an living out of Vero Beach, Florida.
He attended Kahului Elementary, ʻĪao Intermediate, and graduated from Baldwin High School. Dat also wrestled and represented Baldwin High at state championships. He grew up training with Boxing and Martial Arts Coach Jeff Mckee at Wailuku Kenpo Kickboxing Club.
He also received a full boxing scholarship to Northern Michigan University and trained at the olympic training center in Colorado.
At the Elite Amateur level Dat fought and represented Team USA.  He also produced his own gym, the Miracle Boxing Academy.

E-Mail Newsletters Receive daily or weekly updates via e-mail. Subscribe Now
News Alerts Breaking news alerts on your mobile device. Get the App

Comments

This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Maui Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments