Maui Sports

Two More Maui Tennis Teams Head to National Championships

September 30, 2017, 3:04 PM HST
* Updated September 30, 3:53 PM
Listen to this Article
1 minute
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

Maui’s 4.5+ level women’s team is heading to the national championship in Alabama in October.

Two U.S Tennis Association teams from Maui are heading to the 40-and-over 4.5+ level national championships in Mobile, Alabama, in October 2017, after winning state sectional championships in May at the Kapalua Tennis Garden in May.

The Wailea Mavericks men’s team and the Wailea Maverettes women’s team, both captained by Anne Leung-Stevens, are holding a round-robin fundraiser that will feature men’s, women’s and mixed competitions to help fund the trip.

The fundraiser will be held on Saturday, Oct. 7, from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m. at the Wailea Tennis Club.

There is a $35 entry fee. Register for the event by Thursday, Oct. 5 (the event requires a minimum of 30 players, so sign up right away).

Maui’s 4.5+ level men’s team is heading to the national championship in Alabama in October.

The round-robin format will include two nationals-bound player on each court. The  format will be pro-sets of five games, with no-add scoring and team rotation.


Participants are welcome to choose to partner with or play against the national-bound players.


Door prize tickets are $5 for two tickets.

To sign up by Oct. 5, email [email protected] or sign up at Wailea Tennis Club.

The women’s team, including Caroline Walker, Cynthia Feike, Danielle Houston, Janet King, Jody Singsank, Lisa Burleson, Lori Robertson, Kathi Pierceall, Keiko Ichimaru, Maylynn Ikioka, Mino McLean, Mizue Camp, Rachel Christopher and Captain Leung-Stevens, triumphed at the Hawai‘i sectionals championship with a perfect record.


“We won against all odds with our No. 1 singles player off island during sectionals,” said Leung-Stevens. “The remaining gals fought like a tiger and played their brains out to won the sectional championship over Kaua‘i, O‘ahu and the Big Island.

The state champion men’s team includes Chan Ly, Curt de Crinis, Dave Temple, Harold Fernandez, Herb Tedebjork, Jan Waechli, Jeff Perez, Maurice Zane Jr., Ralph Gorgoglione, Rick Camp, Rick Kepler andScott Lechuga DiSalvo.

“This is the ‘make maui proud team,’ with some of the best men players on the island!” said Anne Leung-Stevens. “We won the sectional state championship with a 4-0 win over O‘ahu’s Kaneohe team!”

E-Mail Newsletters Receive daily or weekly updates via e-mail. Subscribe Now
News Alerts Breaking news alerts on your mobile device. Get the App


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Maui Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments