Maui News

Hughes Named Maui District Teacher of the Year

March 22, 2018, 9:32 AM HST
* Updated March 22, 9:33 AM
Listen to this Article
1 minute
Loading Audio... Article will play after ad...
Playing in :00

Maui’s Francine Hughes is among a list of teachers from across the state that were named Teacher of the Year for their respective districts by the state Department of Education.

Inlaid Photo: Francine Hughes courtesy DOE. Background photo: (From left) Education Committee Chair Justin H. Woodson, Vanessa Ching, Gregg Iha, Naomi Salaveria, Cristin Priolo, Amanda Fretto, Education Committee Vice Chair Sam Satoru Kong.

Hughes is a resource teacher from the Maui District, which includes the Hāna-Lahainaluna-Lānaʻi-Molokaʻi Complex Area.

According to recent information compiled by the Department of Education, Hughes is credited with 20 years of DOE experience.  Certified in elementary education with a Masters in educational leadership, DOE officials say “her shared leadership style successfully promotes collaboration and understanding of DOE initiatives.”

She reportedly credits her husband for his support and encouragement, and Sharon Abrigo, a former mentor and colleague, for shaping her professional development design.

The DOE cited CAS Lindsay Ball who described Hughes as a “highly-reflective, solution-oriented, life-long learner who believes that developing and nurturing relationships is the key component when collaborating with fellow educators.”

The state House of Representatives this week recognized Hughes and fellow Teacher of the Year recipients for their contributions to education during Education Week at the State Capitol.

The list of honorees included:

  • Vanessa Ching, Hawai‘i State Teacher of the Year
  • Amanda Fretto, Kauai District, Chiefess Kamakahelei Middle School
  • Francine Hughes, Maui District, Hāna-Lahainaluna-Lānaʻi-Molokaʻi Complex Area
  • Gregg Iha, Central District, Leilehua-Mililani-Waialua Complex Area
  • Erika Kaneo, Hawai‘i District, Waiakeawaena Elementary School
  • Del Onaga, Windward District, Olomana School
  • Cristin Priolo, Public Charter Schools, School for Examining Essential Questions of Sustainability (SEEQS)
  • Naomi Salaveria, Honolulu District, Liholiho Elementary School

“It was a privilege of mine to honor our hardworking educators,” said Representative Justin H. Woodson (Kahului, Puʻunēnē, Old Sand Hills, Maui Lani), Chair of the House Committee on Education. “It is crucial that we uplift our teachers and do a better job of acknowledging the impact they have on our communities and state at-large. Moving forward, I would like to continue to meaningfully support all that our educators do on a daily a basis.”

Make the most of your Maui vacation with these top-rated activities: Maui Top 20: Maui Visitor & Tourism Information
E-Mail Newsletters Receive daily or weekly updates via e-mail. Subscribe Now
News Alerts Breaking news alerts on your mobile device. Get the App


This comments section is a public community forum for the purpose of free expression. Although Maui Now encourages respectful communication only, some content may be considered offensive. Please view at your own discretion. View Comments